- People Views
- Allocation Notes
- Soft Booking
- Use Cases for Soft Booking
- Resourcing Requests
- How to Make Resource Allocations for Projects
- In-Depth: Getting an Overview / Utilization Rate of a Specific Target
- In-Depth: Using the Utilization Range in Person Filters
- Utilizing Different Absence Features in Silverbucket
- Resourcing in Grid View
- Person Details
- Resourcing Intelligence
Membership Actions (Project's Dashboard)
The actions section on Project's Dashboard contains two sets of features:
Project Membership Actions
Project Membership Actions
Project Membership Actions
1) On top of the project name you can find Main Membership Actions for the project:
Add members to a project, Edit forecast prices, and Allocation notes - blue area in the screenshot.
2) By hovering over a role / member's name and clicking the ellipsis icon, you get additional Person & Role specific actions:
Shift allocations, Move to a project member / resource, Divide with project member / resource and Duplicate project member. Orange area in the screenshot.
3) By clicking the trashcan icon you get Membership Deletion Actions:
Archive and remove future allocations, Remove future allocations, Remove the current role including history allocations. Red area in the latter screenshot.
4) By clicking the pen icon you get Person & Role Details
Main Membership Actions
Add members to a project allows you to swiftly add people and roles for the project. The dropdown lists allow you to select multiple people or multiple roles at the same time.
Basic principles while adding people & roles:
- Multiple users can be added to a project with the same role in one dialog.
- If no role is selected, the user's Default Role is used.
- If no user is selected, the selected role is added as an 'Unassigned role' to a project.
- If a user is already added to the project the dialog will indicate it.
If you accidentally click a role or people you don't want, you can either click the selected entity again to delete the selection, or just click 'Close' and start again.
Edit forecast prices allows you to forecast the prices in the future. The values added here are calculated with allocations (not actuals) and are added straight to the Project Numbers table.
Allocation notes contains all the allocation comments (voluntary) regarding the project.
Person & Role Specific Actions
Hovering over any unassigned role or person gives you more powerful tools to allocate your project:
Shift allocations is a suitable tool if the workload is predicted correctly, but the start date moves for one reason or another. This tool moves all allocations made depending on the desired date by the set number of weeks. You can decide the amount of weeks to move allocations, and adding a negative value allows you to move the allocations to an earlier date.
Example: the "Future Project 2019" is set to start on week 30 of 2019. We have already planned that by then we will need an Analytics Project Manager to start on week 30 and two weeks after that, on week 32, we will need a Lead Test Engineer to start working on the project.
During summer 2019 the circumstances change and the project's start date is prolonged by one week, and the project is moved to start on week 31. The resourcing and role requirements remain the same, so we can easily shift both allocations forward by one week. This can be done by checking both of the Unassigned roles in the left side of the view, hovering over the ellipsis icon and clicking 'Shift allocations':
In the opening view we decide which allocations are moved (after which start date) and also by how many weeks we want them moved. So, in this scenario, the start date can be anything before week 30, or even a blank date (in this example a random date from July was used). As mentioned before, the start date was moved forward by one week, so we can put the value '1' in the "Allocations will be shifted" -section.
After clicking 'Shift' the chosen allocations are moved according to our choices; one week forward, Analytics Project Manager now starting from week 31:
The allocations can also be shifted backwards by using a negative value - for example when the project needs to be started earlier. An example:
"Future Project 2019" needs the Lead Test Engineer to work for at least one week together with an Analytics Project Manager. Right now the resourcing doesn't allow it, so we are going to need the Lead Test Engineer to start one week earlier. The process is similar, but instead of choosing both of the roles we only choose the Lead Test Engineer, and we set the number of weeks to a value of '-1'.
After we click 'Shift' we have the desired situation in hand: the project starting a week earlier and at least one week of Analytics Project Manager & Lead Test Engineer working at the same time.
Move to a project member / resource allows you to quickly re-allocate hours from one person to another person / role in the project. This is useful in a situation where the planned person changes from X to Y. It can also be used when person X no longer works for you, but the need for a specific role is identified for the project.
Move to a project member allows you to move allocated hours for a person / role which is already added to the project.
Move to a resource allows you to move allocated hours for a brand new person / role which is not yet added to the project.
Divide with project member / resource works in a similar manner as the 'Move to a project member / resource' (explained above), but the allocations moved to the new person / role can be adjusted in percentages or hours. These values can be inserted in the opening dialog. An example below:
In the example below we have overbooked project member named "support user". We would like to even the hours for another person called "Help & Manual User" as she isn't resourced at all yet. However, we only want to move half of the allocations made for "support user".
As you hover over the user, whose allocations are to be divided, an ellipsis icon appears.
By choosing the 'Divide with project member' we can divide allocations with members that are already added to the project ('Divide with resource' allows us to simultaneously add a brand new member to the project).
In the opening dialog we choose the allocations to be moved to the member "Help & Manual User". After this we insert the value of 50 (%) so only half of the made allocations are moved to "Help & Manual User". Date can be left blank, as we want to divide all the allocations from support user.
By clicking 'Divide' we can see the outcome:
Duplicate project member allows you to duplicate allocations made for a person / role. This is a useful tool for situations where you have identified the need for multiple instances of the same role for your project. An example for this could be customer service for a software, where you want to make sure enough agents are responding to your customers questions - so, multiple agents are needed and should also be resourced for the project.
Membership Deletion Actions
Archive and remove future allocations archives the person/role and removes all the future allocations from this day onwards. A useful tool for situations where a person/role is replaced by another while the workload in history wants to be saved.
Remove future allocations removes only the allocations for the chosen person/role; the person/role itself will remain for the project. Handy for situations where allocations were made for the undesired person/role by accident, for example.
Remove the current role including history allocations removes the person/role and allocations from both future and past for the chosen person/role.
How did we do with this article?