Actions (Project's Dashboard)

Actions 

This section on Project's Dashboard contains two sets of features:

Project Actions
Project Membership Actions

Project Actions

Actions for managing the Project contains:

- Milestones
- Project's tasks
- Hour lock
- Price models
- Project's roles
- Copy project
- Merge to another project
- Project mapping


Different action features for a project

Milestones 

allows you to set milestones for your project. Clicking the icon opens a window in which you can create milestones and also see previously created milestones.

Project's tasks 

allows you to set different tasks for your project. Clicking the icon opens a window in which you can create tasks and also see previously created tasks:

We have created two tasks for this project: "Documentation and Writing" & "General work"


As you click 'Add a new task' a new area opens in the modal which allows you to specify your task a little more:
Add in details about the task

Task name = Name for the task

Estimated hours = If you have an estimate of total hours for the task you can insert it here. This will also show in the Timesheet if you have the functionality enabled.

Task type / Invoiceable = whether or not the task's work is considered billable or not.
In order for the task to show up in Extensive Project Report this needs to be set as 'Invoiceable'

Task type / Active = whether or not the task is currently active.
This also dictates whether or not actual hours can be registered for the project's task.


Tasks are used to specify what kind of work is done for the project in a more detailed level. Actual hours are always registered on task level.


Hour Lock

opens a new window in which you can lock hours:

Locking hour registering for a project

Price models 

allows you to set prices for actual hours (and allocated hours by using the checkbox) in different scenarios. The first applicable price that is set from the top to bottom will be the one used for pricing, so the hierarchy is:

Task prices > People Prices > Other prices.
The price model view in Silverbucket

Examples:

A) Person named "Help & Manual User" works 10 hours for the 'General work' -task. The price for this would be picked from the People Prices -slot (10 hours * 20 Euros = 200 Euros).

B) The same person "Help & Manual User" spent 10 hours with the "Documentation and Writing -task". In this case the price would be selected from the Task Prices -value instead because the task prices are higher in the hierarchy. (10 hours * 17 Euros = 170 Euros).

Project's roles 

provides you detailed insights about the allocations by roles or by people.

Detailed information about roles and their allocations for the project


Copy Project 

is a powerful tool to create multiple similar projects in Silverbucket. The copy project -dialog allows you to choose which attributes to copy and mirror to a fresh new project.

The Copy Project -tool will always create a brand new project, and name it "Copy of <project's name>"
Note: the project, which is used to take the copy from, will remain exactly the same.

You can copy the following attributes from one project to another project:

Tasks
Milestones
Budgets
Project tags
Invoicing details
Prices
Roles & Reservations
(activating the "Roles" slider provides you more options about copying the roles. This also applies the "Reservations" slider afterwards.

Under 'Roles' you can also copy the users and their reservations according to their roles. Even further, you can move the allocations to start from a specific date. When copying allocations to a new project the hours will always be shifted starting from the closest full week.This maneuver addresses any unwanted situations in the project's resourcing (for example allocating hours for weekends by accident etc)

You can decide which information gets carried over for the new project


Merge to another project 

this feature can be enabled by sending a request to support@silverbucket.com

This feature merges the current project's allocations, actual hours, budgets, price models, tags, portfolios, milestones and users to the desired destination project. Source project will be permanently deleted.

Example:

1) Navigate over to the project which you want to merge to another project. In our example we are going to use a project called "Maintenance & Upkeep -project" which we want to merge into another existing project called "Bridges & Dams".

All the project's actions are located just above the resourcing view


2) Click the 'Merge to another project' button found on the Project's Dashboard

3) In the opening view you can select the desired project which you want to merge to project into. In our case, we want to merge to project into an existing project called 'Bridges & Dams'

The text with yellow background gives a little more insight about the procedure


By checking 'Merge projectroles'  all the
identical unassigned roles are merged into one.
If this is unchecked and merged projects have identical unassigned roles, Silverbucket will keep both roles for the remaining project with separate details.

4) After you click "Merge" the source project is merged into the project chosen in step 3. So, in this case, only 'Bridges & Dams' remains in Silverbucket and the 'Maintenance & Upkeep -Project' is removed entirely.


Project mapping 

is used only when integrating actual hours. It maps the actual hours from one project to another project. This feature is not necessary unless Silverbucket support has adviced you to use it.
How did we do with this article?