What are UserGroups & AuthorizationGroups? How do I view/edit them?

User Groups


User Groups are metadata that can be added for your personnel. User groups can be used to separate different departments from each other - you can even use them to separate different office cubicles' personnel from each other, if you wish. Adding a Silverbucket user to a user group grants no access rights in the system, but helps filtering and sorting personnel in some scenarios.

Authorization Groups


Authorization Groups can provide an additional layer of user rights. Authorization Groups are created by us here in Silverbucket support. After a group is created our support will provide additional information on how they affect the users that are added into the group.



Adding and removing members from User Groups & Authorization Groups can be done by any admin in your Silverbucket environment. This can be performed in the admin-view.

The admin-view is only visible for admins of Silverbucket

1) Head over to the admin-view
2) Choose the desired group which you wish to add/remove users

In this example we're using the UserGroup '[1] Architects' and wish to add a user there

3) In the opening window you can see the already added personnel and make adjustments

Here we had a person already added to the group; we also added the user 'Support user' to the group

4) Click 'Save'
5) If you wish to remove personnel from the group, simply choose the group and click 'Edit' and remove the person from the listing


Special sliders for Authorization Groups 


Authorization Groups can be added instantly for new users. The group can be added to the user based on the employement type information; if the user is marked as 'Own' or 'External' as the user is created.
Make sure you don't hand out too many user rights with these sliders!

Toggling these sliders allow you to automatically add new users to an authorization group.
How did we do with this article?